Frugality · Uncategorized

Frugaltude – how to incorporate saving money and thriftiness in your daily life.

Welcome to the very first blog post from Frugaltude!  The  idea for this blog came to me over 9 years ago.  At the time, I had been a stay-at-home mom for two young boys for about 5 years.  I had several years of practicing a frugal lifestyle through the various informational means that were available to me at the time, such as books like  The Complete Tightwad Gazette and Miserly Moms.  I also enjoyed visiting Living on a Dime and Wise Bread when I needed some fresh ideas about saving money, budgeting, and feeding a family on one income.  These were in the years prior to Pinterest, Facebook, Instagram, large numbers of personal blogs, and the ever increasing variety of social media sources that we currently have available.  Today, there is so much information at our fingertips, that it is hard to discern the things that are relevant and useful from the fluff.

Why did it take me 9 years to bring this idea to fruition?  It is hard to say.  The demands of being a mom, running a vintage and home decor business, and now working full-time during the school year (I work at the local school) were just too much  for me.   Probably, some fear about putting my ideas out for others to consider was another factor.  Now just feels like the right time.

 You may ask, “What on earth is frugaltude?”.  I made it up.  It’s simply a combination of frugal and attitude.  I view ‘frugaltude’ as my attitude for incorporating thrift and frugality in my daily life. The word frugality is defined  as the quality of being frugal, or prudent in saving; the lack of wastefulness.  Based on this definition, shouldn’t frugality be something we celebrate and encourage each other about?  I think so!   Who doesn’t want to save more of their money and limit their waste (food, clothing, energy, water)?  Saving money helps us pay down debt, contribute to our retirement accounts and children’s college accounts, and gives us more financial security when an unexpected event pops up in our life.

Each day I make a myriad of choices on how to spend my money.  Do I make my own coffee at home or do I stop for a vanilla latte on my way to work?  Do I pack my lunch  or wander over to the deli next door for a $7 sandwich at noon?  Do I build a fire in my wood stove or turn on my furnace?  Do I stop and grab a pizza for the family on the way home from work or warm up last nights leftovers?  Choices…..that impact your bottom line.

For me, frugality is the practice of mindfulness of my in-come and my out-go of money.  It is about the choices that I make everyday, it is about limiting waste and using what you have.  It is my hope that as this blog develops that I can share with you fresh ideas and thoughts about incorporating frugality and thriftiness into your daily lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

